Alumni Newsletter


Steering Committee



The Bowhay Institute for Legislative Leadership Development


“You will leave better informed and better prepared to make a true impact on your chamber, your legislative body and your community.”
-- Illinois Rep. Elgie Sims Jr., Class of 2014

2016 BILLD Program: August 12-16
Madison, Wisconsin


BILLD: A unique educational experience for legislators

Each summer, 37 lawmakers from the 11 member states of the Midwestern Legislative Conference and its affiliate members gather in Madison, Wis., for a unique five-day educational experience.  In addition to its focus on leadership training, such as conflict resolution and negotiation, BILLD includes policy sessions on issues such as education, corrections, health care and economic development, as well as seminars on media relations, priority management and consensus building.
The BILLD program is conducted by CSG's Midwestern Office in cooperation with The Robert M. La Follette School of Public Affairs at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. The program takes place each summer on the university’s campus.Fellowships are awarded on a competitive, nonpartisan basis by a Steering Committee of legislators from the region.
How to apply for a fellowship »















What is BILLD?
The Bowhay Institute is the only leadership training program designed exclusively for Midwestern legislators. BILLD helps  newer legislators develop the skills  necessary to become effective leaders,  informed decision-makers and astute policy analysts. The program offers a  unique opportunity for lawmakers to  improve their leadership skills and explore the issues of the day with nationally renowned scholars, professional development experts, and legislative leaders and colleagues from across the region.