The Midwestern Legislative Conference Economic Development Committee provides a forum for Midwestern legislators to examine issues affecting the economic conditions of individual states within the Midwest and the region as a whole. It includes legislators from the 11 member states of the MLC and four Canadian provinces. Michigan Rep. Eileen Kowall and Nebraska Sen. Heath Mello serve as co-chairs of the committee.
Since its creation in 1996, the committee has studied a number of issues impacting the economic health of the Midwestern states, including tax and financial incentives, technology-led economic development, venture capital, workforce development and regional growth strategies. Laura Tomaka serves as CSG Midwest staff liaison to the committee.
The committee last met on July 14 in St. Paul, Minn., as part of the MLC Annual Meeting. Topics included an examination of regional growth efforts through business cluster and supply chain strategies, and efforts to create effective business incentives and balanced regulations in order to improve state business climates.
MLC Economic Development Committee roster »


Agenda and presentations from 2013 committee meeting


Other committee resources









MLC Committees

The bipartisan MLC committees are made up of state and provincial legislators from across the Midwest. They foster the regional exchange of information and ideas on key policy issues impacting the region and its states. They also facilitate interstate cooperation.