A principal objective of CSG Midwest is to support the efforts of the Midwestern Legislative Conference (MLC), a regional association of legislators representing 11 Midwestern states and four Canadian provinces. The purpose of the MLC is to foster cooperation among the region's policymakers through the consideration of common problems, the exchange of information and ideas, the sharing of knowledge, and the pursuit of collaborative efforts to improve state government. All 1,550 Midwestern state legislators — as well as lawmakers representing the affiliated Canadian provinces of Alberta, Manitoba, Ontario and Saskatchewan — are eligible to participate in MLC activities.


Member States, Affiliate Provinces of the MLC

The Midwestern Legislative Conference is made up of 11 Midwestern states: Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota and Wisconsin. The Canadian provinces of Alberta, Manitoba, Ontario and Saskatchewan are affiliate members of the MLC.

All state legislators and provincial parliamentarians representing these states and provinces are entitled to participate in MLC activities and receive MLC products and services. For more information, contact Mike McCabe.





The Mission of CSG
and CSG Midwest

The Council of State Governments is the nation's only nonpartisan association of state officials serving all three branches of government in all 50 states and the U.S. territories. CSG is a regionally-based, national organization that promotes excellence in state government. CSG fosters the interstate exchange of insights and ideas to help state officials shape public policy, and it offers unparalleled regional, national and international opportunities to network, develop leaders, collaborate and create problem-solving partnerships. CSG Midwest focuses on meeting the needs of state policymakers and leaders in the nation's heartland, including 11 Midwestern states.