Midwestern Legislative Conference

Bowhay Institute for Legislative
Leadership Development

Great Lakes-St. Lawrence
Legislative Caucus

Midwest Interstate Passenger
Rail Commission

Midwestern Legislative Service Agency/Research Directors Group

Midwestern Radioactive Materials Transportation Project


About the Great Lakes-St. Lawrence Legislative Caucus
The Great Lakes-St. Lawrence Legislative Caucus is a nonpartisan group of state and provincial lawmakers from eight U.S. states (Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania and Wisconsin) and two Canadian provinces (Ontario and Québec). Michigan Sen. Darwin Booher serves as chair of the caucus. CSG Midwest provides staffing services for the caucus. Funding for the caucus is provided in part by The Joyce Foundation.
The caucus has three primary goals:
  • Facilitate the regional exchange of ideas and information on key Great Lakes issues 
  • Strengthen the role of state and provincial legislators in the policymaking process
  • Promote the restoration and protection of the Great Lakes



Caucus Executive Committee


Caucus Correspondence

To help provide a voice for the states and provinces of the Great Lakes region, the caucus initiates sign-on letters, submits public comments and passes resolutions on key policy issues impacting the Great Lakes.







The Mission of CSG
and CSG Midwest

The Council of State Governments is the nation's only nonpartisan association of state officials serving all three branches of government in all 50 states and the U.S. territories. CSG is a regionally-based, national organization that promotes excellence in state government. CSG fosters the interstate exchange of insights and ideas to help state officials shape public policy, and it offers unparalleled regional, national and international opportunities to network, develop leaders, collaborate and create problem-solving partnerships. CSG Midwest focuses on meeting the needs of state policymakers and leaders in the nation's heartland, including 11 Midwestern states.